Reflection

The world around us is constantly evolving; technology has a large influence on this evolution. Careers and how we go about our daily lives is constantly being affected by the digital world (Spencer, 2015), in order to prepare our students for the future it is imperative that we have a thorough understanding of the digital world and it’s complexities from digital identity/security to digital fluency and everything else in-between.

Whilst doing this assignment I used four different freeware tools. There are many different tools that can be used. Freeware tools are free to use, most freeware is typically not open source therefor the user is restricted from modifying however can be copied and shared unlike open source software that can be modified (“Freeware definition by The Linux Information Project (LINFO)”, 2016).

Howell, 2012 mentions teacher’s private use of technologies is much different to how a teacher will use the technologies in a classroom. In my career as a banker I use programs such as Seibel and SAP, open source programs that have been modified to suit the banking system much different to the tools I used for this assignment. The tools I used are WordPress, Canva, Sway and Powtoon, each tool being unique for the outcome desired.

By using these tools to create my blog, visual, auditory and written summations gave me a better understanding of learning and teaching in the digital world. This assignment opened my mind to different digital learning activities. Creative activities are activities that use the students creativity (Howell, 2012) such as creating an appealing website or visual summation. Experimental activities involve a student to process how things work and problem solve (Howell, 2012) I did a lot of experimental activity as I had not used the tools before. Purposeful activity combines technology with curriculum outcomes (Howell, 2012). This assignment taught me about the topics but I also learnt how to use these tools to show what I have learnt.

I have leant about learning a teaching in the digital world, the complexities of the digital world and how I can use different tools and skills in my classroom.

cropped-cropped-1920x800a-technophobe-in-a-digital-world1 

 Freeware definition by The Linux Information Project (LINFO). (2016). Linfo.org. Retrieved from http://www.linfo.org/freeware.html

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT digital pedagogies for collaboration and creativity. Oxford University Press. Australia and New Zealand.

 

 Spencer, K. (2015). What is Digital Fluency. Retrieved from http://blog.core-ed.org/blog/2015/10/what-is-digital-fluency.html

Leave a Reply

